The Old Mill, on the east bank of the West Prong of the Little Pigeon River in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee was built in 1830. Grinding is done on 2-Ton French Buhrs, installed when it was built. Water from the Little Pigeon turns the big 24 foot breast wheel and the two old tub wheels to furnish the power. The Mill is supported on 14" x 14" yellow poplar logs 40 feet long, resting on pillars built of huge river rocks. The interior is hand-hewn hemlock and oak held together with hickory pegs. The floors are heart pine put down with rectangular iron nails. The outside is yellow poplar weather boarding. During the War Between The States looms were kept on the second floor and weaving was done for the soldiers. The old iron forge, for which the town was named, was a thriving business when the Mill was put up by it's side. They both used water power. In 1885 the forge was dismantled and taken to Kentucky and a watered powered saw mill built. In 1900 the saw mill was moved and a large storage room for grain was added to the Mill. Electricity for the town was generated in the Mill until 1930. Thus, the Old Mill stands today creating one of the most breathtaking scenes in all the Smokies, with the beautiful Little Pigeon River dammed at its side, it works away as majestic Mount LeConte towers in the background sending her streams and branches down the lush green mountain to form the river, to make the power, to turn the stones, to grind the grain to give you the most delicious eating possible.
Courtesy The Old Mill of Pigeon Forge